Health & Social Care BTEC

Health and Social Care is offered as a BTEC Qualification to give a full GCSE at grade C and above. It allows students to explore, develop and apply knowledge and skills within the context of the health, education, social care and young people’s services.

Units of study covered:

Year of study Unit topic Assessment Time * Assessment type
Year 10 Component 1
Human Lifespan Development
Internal 36 GLH Assignments
Component 2
Health & Social Care Services and Values.
Internal 36 GLH Assignments
Year 11 Component 3
Health & Wellbeing
External 48 GLH Feb/May Exam

*Guided Learning Hours (GLH)

There are two internal assessments which will completed throughout Year 10. Students are required to complete specific tasks to produce a portfolio of coursework showing their understanding of the key topics covered.

Year 11 students will predominantly be studying topics that make up their exam which will be sat in February. Students will also have the option of sitting it a second and final time in May.

KS4 Health and Social Care Curriculum Information